Saline District Library is governed by a 7-member group of volunteer residents who are appointed either by the City of Saline or by the Saline School District. Terms are two years. The monthly board meeting is typically held at 7 pm on the third Tuesday of every month and is open to the public. The Board encourages people to email them. The Board will read and respond to e-mail messages at their monthly board meetings.

What does a Board Member do?

Most Michigan public libraries have policymaking boards. By law, library boards are authorized to: adopt bylaws and rules for the board’s governance and for use of the library, hire a library director, adopt an annual operating budget and provide for adequate funding for the library. The Board hires a library director to administer the daily operations of the library. Duties include: attend and participate at board meetings, be a team player and support board decisions, be an advocate for the library and respect and support the role of the library director. Anyone interested in serving on the Board should contact the Library Director for further details.



Library Board Members: 12/2016 – 11/2017

PresidentDennis Schneider429-7364
Vice PresidentLeslie Parsels944-0117
TreasurerPatti Tanner429-2782
SecretaryKarl Hatopp429-0008
TrusteeKathy Krone276-3953
TrusteeDavid Rhoads216-7473
TrusteeKristina Clarke

Pictured back row, L to R: Patti Tanner (Treasurer), Karl Hatopp (Secretary), Dennis Schneider (President), Kathy Krone.
Front row, L to R: Lisa Flynn (former Trustee), Phyllis Martin (former Trustee), and Leslie Parsels (Vice President). (Not pictured: David Rhoads and Kristina Clarke)