Board of Trustees 2019-11-08T14:46:02+00:00

LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Saline District Library is governed by a 7-member group of volunteer residents who are appointed either by the City of Saline or by the Saline School District. Terms are two years. The monthly board meeting is typically held at 7 pm on the third Tuesday of every month and is open to the public. The Board encourages people to email them. The Board will read and respond to e-mail messages at their monthly board meetings.

What does a Board Member do?

Most Michigan public libraries have policymaking boards. By law, library boards are authorized to: adopt bylaws and rules for the board’s governance and for use of the library, hire a library director, adopt an annual operating budget, and provide for adequate funding for the library. The Board hires a library director to administer the daily operations of the library. Board duties include: attend and participate at board meetings, be a team player and support board decisions, be an advocate for the library, and respect and support the role of the library director. Anyone interested in serving on the Board should contact the Library Director for further details.

Library Board Members: 12/2018 – 11/2019

PresidentLeslie Parselslparsels@salinelibrary.org
Vice PresidentKathy Kronekkrone@salinelibrary.org
TreasurerKarl Hatoppkhatopp@salinelibrary.org
SecretaryKristina Clarkekclarke@salinelibrary.org
TrusteeMike Priehsmpriehs@salinelibrary.org
TrusteeRichard Connrconn@salinelibrary.org
TrusteeJenna Saldanajsaldana@salinelibrary.org

Standing (L to R): Kristina Clarke (Secretary), Mike Priehs, Patti Tanner (former member), Karl Hatopp (Treasurer) Seated (L to R): Richard Conn, Leslie Parsels (President), Kathy Krone (Vice President) Not shown: Jenna Saldana